SNA announces 2020 awards recipients
Dr. Allan Armitage.

SNA announces 2020 awards recipients

The awards will be presented at the 121st Annual SNA Business Meeting on Jan. 7 at the Baltimore Convention Center.


According to a press release, the Southern Nursery Association (SNA) has announced the recipients of the 2020 SNA Awards. The awards will be presented at the 121st Annual SNA Business Meeting, scheduled for Tuesday, Jan. 7, 2020, at the Baltimore Convention Center, Baltimore, Maryland, during the SNA Conference. Read the full list of winners, below:

  • This year’s recipient of the Slater Wight Memorial Award is Dr. Allan Armitage, Emeritus Professor at the University of Georgia who holds academic degrees from McGill University and University of Guelph, Canada, as well as Michigan State University. Dr. Armitage is well known as a writer, speaker and researcher throughout the world. He has written over 70 academic papers, 500 industry papers, and 16 books that serve as classroom texts, reference books and gardeners’ companions.
  • This year’s recipient of the David E. Laird, Sr. Memorial Award is Autumn Schwab White, Principal and Owner of Dragonfly Landscape and Water Gardens, Tampa, Florida. With her infectious spirit, she is a passionate springboard for the green industry. As president of Florida Nursery, Growers and Landscape Association’s Tampa Bay Chapter, Autumn has infused new and vibrant energy into a host of local events and FNGLA projects. Autumn also serves FNGLA as Tampa Bay Chapter’s state board representative and served as this year’s Convention Committee Chair, helping to organize events at FNGLA’s Annual Convention. She received the 2019 FNGLA/Farm Credit Young Nursery Professional Award.
  • This year’s recipients of the SNA Pinnacle Award is Brent Harper, Cherokee Manufacturing, Nashville, GA. Born and raised in Pelham, Georgia, Brent Harper’s work ethic began at an early age while working on the family farm. With a desire to branch out and learn new things, Brent took a job at a local cabinetry shop in 1981 where he would remain until 1984. In the same year, Brent began work with Amoco Fabrics & Fibers of Nashville, Georgia, a producer of shade cloth and ground cover for the nursery industry. At the time, Amoco Fabrics & Fibers was the leading industry supplier to packaging companies as well as wholesale distributors of shade cloth and woven ground cover. Being fascinated with how the products were produced, used and sold, Brent took a job as a salesman with Cady Bag Company, Inc. of Pearson, Georgia in 1986. His job encompassed Georgia, Alabama, Florida and South Carolina where he traveled extensively learning more about his products and customers.
  • The recipient of the 2019 Porter Henegar Memorial Award is Dr. Robert Geneve, Professor, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky, where he teaches Woody Plant Material, Plant Propagation and Topics in Plant and Soil Science. He also coordinates the internship program for HPLS horticulture and science. In addition, he is an Academic and Horticulture Club advisor.
  • The 2019 recipients of the Don Shadow Award of Excellence are Mark and Jolly Krautmann, co-owners of Heritage Seedlings & Liners, Salem, Oregon. They moved to Oregon in the spring of 1978 and started Heritage Seedlings together in 1981. Starting with Japanese maple seedlings and using only hand tools for all the work, they now grow over 520 kinds of rare and unusual woody plants. Although Mark is clearly more the “plant geek,” he’s quick to point out that no plant maniac makes payroll without a clever spouse who can help market them effectively.
  • This year’s recipient of the SNA Honorary Member Award is Jimmy Driver, of Jimmy Driver Plant Brokerage & Consulting, McMinnville, Tennessee. Jimmy Driver served as President of Middle Tennessee Nursery (1974–1975); President of the Tennessee Nursery Association (1984–1985); Member of the Board of Governors of the American Nursery Association (1990–1993). He was honored as Tennessee Wholesale Nurseryman of the Year in 1992. He has served on various committees of state, regional and national associations. Jim, along with Otis Floyd, led the delegation to facilitate the legislative and funding activities to move the nursery research center to McMinnville – the Otis Floyd Nursery Crop Research Station. Jim also served on the legislative committee of the American Nursery Association. He attended conferences in Washington, DC at the Capitol and the White House.

The SNA Awards Program is designed to recognize professionals for their distinguished talents, extraordinary service and life achievements, and who have demonstrated their commitment to the Southern Nursery Association and the industry through these annual awards. For a list of previous SNA award winners, visit the SNA website at For more information on SNA, contact the Southern Nursery Association, Inc., PO Box 801454, Acworth, GA 30101, 678.809.9992,, or visit the SNA website at